Midsummer Dreams in the freezer

 

 

 

 


Lonely men

All these lonely men, where do they all come from?
And to what will they go with all their dreams, kept
strictly secret in their hearts, and at their backs and
behind harsh smiles? Open up, reacting like oysters
fear of be eaten alive and instantly die, in the other.

Alla dessa ensamma män, var kommer de alla ifrån?
Och till vad ska de gå med alla sina drömmar strängt
hemligt bevarade i deras hjärtan och burna på deras
ryggar bakom kärva leenden? Öppnas, reagerar som
som ostron räds slukas levande strax dö, i den andra.

 

 

 

Not touched but seen

Jag vill inte bli vidrörd.
Jag vill inte bli förflyttad.
Det skulle vara trevligt att
bara sitta här och bli sedd.
Men man kan inte få allt, sa
man när jag var barn. Nu är
jag gammal och blir varken
sedd eller hörd och saknar
dessutom vetorätt. Sällan
begärd men ofta rörd och
förflyttad och nästan död.

I don’t want to be touched.
I don’t want to be removed.
It would be nice to just sit here
and be seen. But you cannot get
it all I was told when I was a child.
Now I am old and neither seen nor
heard and more, I’ve lost veto rights.
I’m seldom desired but often touched
and moved and removed almost dead.

 

 

 

Is this June?

Is this June, my balcony plants ask me.
Take us instantly indoors and spare us
from hard winds, rain and lack of heat.
We don’t die but suffer silently unseen.

Är detta juni, frågar mina balkongväxter.
Ta oss genast inomhus, och förskona oss
från hård vind, regn och utebliven värme.
Vi dör inte. Men vi lider tysta och osedda.

 

 

 

 

Midsummer Dreams I

I don’t mind being alone on a Christmas Day.
I don’t believe in Santa anyway. But I believe
in Midsummer Night Dreams. And today it is
the Midsummer Eve! It’s the day when a lone
Swede feels unhappy; by the stigma to be odd
and omitted.  Loved by no one.

Jag har inget emot att vara ensam på en
julafton. Jag tror iallafall inte på jultomten.
Men jag tror på midsommarnattsdrömmar.
Idag är det Midsommarafton. Dagen när en
ensam svensk känner sig olycklig av stigmat
att vara udda och utanför, älskad av ingen.

 

 

 

 

Midsummer Dreams II

(I don’t mind being alone on a Christmas Day.
I don’t believe in Santa anyway. But I believe
in the dreams in Nordic Midsummer Nights.)

And it is Midsummer again! I fight my way out
to nature with trekking poles, to then fall once
again this time on a gravel path. Bleeding knee
and elbow. I ask my son to call for a taxi home.
Antiseptic to clean my wounds, a quick pizza in
the microwave. My dreams rests in the freezer.

 

 

 

(Jag har inget emot att vara ensam på en
julafton. Jag tror iallafall inte på jultomten.
Men jag tror på midsommarnattsdrömmar.)

Midsommar igen! Jag kämpar mig ut i naturen
med gåstavar. Men faller ännu en gång, nu på
en grusväg. Blöder på knä och armbåge. Säger
till sonen att ringa efter en taxi hem. Desivon
för att rengöra såren. En snabbpizza i mikron.
Drömmarna vilar i frysboxen.

 

Detta inlägg publicerades i aging, alienation, beliefs, diseases, dreamers, fragility, left aside, loneliness, loners, longing, lost, melancholy, poem in English and Swedish, poem in English to Swedish, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry, reality, summer poem, summertime, Sweden view, Swedish "culture", Swedish souls, unhappiness, vulnerability, walk of life och märktes , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Lämna en kommentar

Denna webbplats använder Akismet för att minska skräppost. Lär dig om hur din kommentarsdata bearbetas.