Cold April Day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A cold and windy birthday – I turned 72 years (old) today. Freezing, dressed for a warm spring that just was, I limped to the library – my son praiseworthy carrying the heavy bag with books to return. Wisely, I borrowed only 3 novels this time – no pile of poetry books and certainly not more of psychology books about the meaning of life! (Just a pompous blah in this now passing time of grim illness). I have just finished rereading Ishiguro ”The Remains of the Day” and not feeling willing to yet  put his novel back in my bookshelf. So I ordered ”Klara and the Sun” (I am number 90 in the queue) and I borrowed ”Never let me go ”. I had no doubts about these choices, then! Then I borrowed a novel by Elena Ferrante and a novel by Anna Gavalda – I hope to be lucky with them. As young, I could read everything coming in my way (as I remember it!). But not anymore. And everything goes slowly nowaways. But it’s moving! In the right direction. I don’t mean towards ”old age” but towards recovery and getting my health back. Living in a novel makes it easier. I wish I had fantasy to write novels. But I’ve been writing on this blog since 2012. I’m happy with that.

 

 

En kall och blåsig födelsedag – jag blev 72 år (gammal) idag. Frysande, klädd för en vårvärme som nyss var haltade jag till biblioteket – sonen bar berömvärt den tunga väskan med böcker att återlämna. Klokt lånade jag bara 3 romaner den här gången, ingen hög med poesiböcker och verkligen inga psykologiböcker om meningen med livet, (bara ett högtravande blaha i detta nu passerande bistra sjukdomstider). Jag har nyss läst om Ishiguro ”The remains of the Day” och jag kände mig ännu inte villig att ställa tillbaks hans roman i bokhyllan – så jag beställde ”Klara and the Sun” (jag är nummer 90 i kön!) och jag lånade ”Never let me go”. Inga tveksamheter om de valen, alltså! Sedan lånade jag en roman av Elena Ferrante och en roman av Anna Gavalda, jag hoppas på tur med dem. Som ung kunde jag läsa allt som kom i min väg (som jag minns det!), men inte nu längre. Allt går långsamt numera. Men det rör på sig. Åt rätt håll. Jag menar inte ”mot ålderdomen” men till återhämtning och att få hälsan tillbaka. Att leva i en roman gör det lättare. Jag önskar att jag hade fantasi att skriva romaner. Men jag har skrivit på den här bloggen sedan 2012.  Jag är nöjd med det.

rose, whiterose, white

 

 

Detta inlägg publicerades i about writing, become old, dreamers, healing, inspiring literature, library visits, poem in Swedish and English, poems by vonnely, prose, prose poem, reading, spring, springtime, vår, words, writing och märktes , , , , , , , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

2 kommentarer till Cold April Day

  1. vonnely skriver:

    Thank you! 🙂

  2. jpauline22 skriver:

    Happy birthday.

Lämna en kommentar

Denna webbplats använder Akismet för att minska skräppost. Lär dig om hur din kommentarsdata bearbetas.