”The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it”

John 1:5 ”The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it”

After the last killings, Manhattan October 31, 2017, I felt such an overwhelming tiredness coming over me when I heard it on the news. It comes again and again and year after year, these mass murders. And then the day after media shows a photo of some strange fellow looking odd and weird.  This last loser says has shouted ”God is greater” when he left his vehicle.

But God said ”Do I know you? No, I don’t think so!”

It’s All Saints Day today in Sweden. No, not ”Halloween”! That’s a kind of American carnival custom imported into Sweden and I like other ”old fashioned” Swedes dislikes it.

Church Röke Sweden

I like the image of a deserted graveyard at night when all gone home after traditional have decorated the graves with wreaths and lighted candles. It is an image revealing I have a romantic mind  – because I have never seen such a view at night time in reality and I have never decorated any graves either. Not as I lack deceased relatives who would have appreciate this kind of remembrance. But none of them rest in a graveyard nearby  me, but are all far and outspread over the country – and further more, my past it just depressing stuff I’ve just cut it off.

But why do we celebrate saints, when we have not been Catholics since the 1500s? Well, because we think it is ”All souls day” we celebrate. But ”All souls day” is actually the day after. Yes, I’ve spent the day surfing for knowledge online now again. 🙂

It’s also ”World Vegan Day” today, instituted 1994 by Louise Wallis, Chairman of the Vegan Society UK to draw attention to the vegan way of life and recall the founding of the world’s first vegan association Vegan Society UK, formed in November 1944 by Donald Watson. Watson was also the one who coined the concept of vegan. (all information from Wikipedia).

More Wikipedia: Speaking in 2011, Louise Wallis said: ”We knew the Society had been founded in November 1944 but didn’t know the exact date, so I decided to go for 1 November, partly because I liked the idea of this date coinciding with Samhain/Halloween and the Day of the Dead – traditional times for feasting and celebration, both apt and auspicious.”

Well? That’s just sick! 😦

I’m not a vegan, but I’ve been a lacto-vegetarian since the midst of the 70s. It’s a very long time! And ”old fashioned” as I am I don’t even eat food called vegan-bacon or vegan-ham, only the name gives me nausea. 😦

But I eat dark chocolate for example… And  meanwhile I do that I will daydream in the darkness in this cold November, now beginning!

Don’t forget:
John 1:5 ”The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it”

 

 

Detta inlägg publicerades i create life, darkness, dreamers, food, living in the world, past, poems by vonnely, sadness, web papers och märktes , , , , , , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Lämna en kommentar

Denna webbplats använder Akismet för att minska skräppost. Lär dig om hur din kommentarsdata bearbetas.