Ball and chain

window

 

 

 

 

 

Do I believe he ever loved me?
Well, I believe he thought he did!

I think he still does, because
you can’t turn off love like you
turn off a water tap.

But I think he’s into something,
just to forget me. And it isn’t right!

Yet I’m not a Marilyn in negligee…
but a woman of a certain age…

It wasn’t fair what he did to me. Butjanis
women at my age either have power
but maybe not love or live life with
neither – but with a ball and a chain…
And I’m so utterly powerless…

See me now humming on my postlude
chant, fed up still hooked yet thinking
about giving up the “chick lit” poetry…
(got my (Mon-) RÅ tail burned).

(And what would I then write about?)
(Well, I honestly don’t know!)

I’m so bloody down to earth, that’s
why I’m stuck with my blue moods.

That’s why I’m sitting at my window,
gloomy yearning, numb yet in tears
listen to Janis Joplin… Oh, she could
scream it out, couldn’t she! But I can’t!

With pain in my heart I quietly hum
“love? no never more, never again!”

 

disappointed-businessman-dragging-ball-and-chain_573x300

 

This entry was posted in aging, inspiring music, love poem, love story, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry, walk of life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

