Seven flowers under my pillow

Midsummer is a big traditional public festival and family event in Sweden there all generations participates. It’s also a holiday surrounded by romance, dreams and magic beliefs. For example, the magical act for maidens to collect seven flowers during the Midsummer night to put under the pillow – to dream of future husband. To get this latter magic act to work, you also have to climb over seven fences in total silence that must not be broken, not even for a giggle. Nowadays with electric fences between the pastures, it’s preferable to choose to climb over the wooden stiles. 🙂

mid594 korr

 

Seven flowers, I have under my pillow –
seven wooden fences I have climbed over
seven decades have closely passed – and I
don’t dream what will be – future is here
and the daily bread I chew; what was and
what was not, becomes blurry alike in my
sight and in the light Midsummer night…

It’s the light and enchanting night when
Nature’s magical power is on its peak and
only the lonely weakens – and the elderly
are assumed to be out of the game, as for
them future is not something coming, but
lies in their heavy backpacks…

…yes, and I read on my phone the other day
Kevin had called me and then after I got some
nights with no sleep, but why? I broke up with
him two years ago, hastily and without given
him my reason – he would had refuted it if I
had told him. He was soon forgotten – until
now. He was once a midsummer dream, that
burst in the pale light of awake reality.

Yet he is a cause of what became my writing theme
and also what got me into write poetry in English.
He was my true muse; may still be it. But I’m not
going to call back to him to ask what he wanted.

Now another night with no sleep and I stand on my
balcony. I think about the next coming weekend –
the Midsummer celebration – the only event when
you’re not allowed to be alone at home, comfortable
and happy with yourself and your life, as it is.

It’s full moon, yet it’s not dark – the sky is pink like a
maiden’s cheek in an English novel and soft blue like
a dove’s chest. The lilacs that blossom two years ago
when I broke up with him are gone for this season too.
But bunches of elder flowers shines white – and from
the countryside with woods and meadows on the other
side of the highway, it all close to where I live, I hear
how a vixen scream and scream, again and again…

I have put seven flowers under my pillow, I have climbed
over seven wooden fences and seven decades have almost
passed – future is not something for my dreams, it’s here
in my daily life: this is what has become of what was and
what was not, my share of joy and shimmering moments,
dull and gray nothing days and hard struggling times with
closed doors and darkness; spilled milk, tears, yes at times
and in secret I’ve been thinking life is not fair. But it’s wise
not to become contended and lazy – because it’s not over yet…

angsblommor 4

 

 

 

 

 

Sju blommor har jag lagt under min kudde,
sju gärdsgårdar har jag klättrat över – och
sju decennier har nu nästan passerat: jag
drömmer inte om vad som komma skall,
framtiden är här och nu och är det dagliga
bröd som jag tuggar; vad som var och vad
som inte var, ser fördunklat lika ut för min
syn och i den ljusa midsommarnatten.

Det är den ljusa förtrollande natten, då
naturens magiska krafter är som starkast!
Endast den som är ensam blir försvagad
och gamlingar förmodas vara ute ur leken –
och för dem är framtiden inte kommande,
men bärs tungt i säcken på deras ryggar.

Ja, och så läste jag häromdagen på mobilen
att Ragnar ringt mig och sedan fick jag några
nätter av dålig sömn, men varför det? Jag bröt
med honom för två år sedan, hastigt och utan
att ange skälet – om jag sagt varför skulle han
ha bestridit det. Han var snart glömd, tills nu…
Han var en gång en midsommarnattsdröm som
sprack i den vakna verklighetens krassa ljus.

Likväl är han ett upphov till vad som blev mitt
skrivartema och till att jag började skriva poesi
på engelska. Han var min sanna musa – och han
är det måhända fortfarande. Men jag tänker inte
ringa upp honom och fråga vad han ville.

Nu ännu en natt utan sömn och jag står på min
balkong. Jag tänker på helgen som kommer –
det är midsommarhelgen – det är den enda helg
när du inte är tillåten att sitta ensam hemma och
känna dig bekväm och nöjd med dig själv och din
tillvaro, som den är.

Det är fullmåne, men det är inte mörkt – himlen är rosa
som en jungfrus kind i en engelsk roman och mjukt blå
likt en duvas bröst. Syrenerna som blommade för två
år sedan när jag gjorde slut med honom är utblommade
också för den här säsongen. Men fläderns blomklasar
lyser vitt – och från skogsbrynen och ängarna på andra
sidan om huvudleden, allt nära huset där jag bor, hör
jag en rävhona tjuta och tjuta, igen och igen …

Jag har lagt sju blommor under min kudde, jag har
klättrat över sju gärdsgårdar och sju årtionden har
nästan passerat – framtiden är inte något för mina
drömmar, den är här i mitt vakna liv – detta är vad
som har blivit av det som var och vad som inte var;
mina ögonblick av glädje och skimrande stunder, av
trista och grå ingenting-dagar, av hårda och motiga
tider då dörrar var stängda och allt var mörker, spilld
mjölk, tårar, ja – det finns tillfällen då jag i hemlighet
tänkt att livet inte är rättvist. Men det är klokast att
inte bli förnöjd och lat – för det är inte över än …

clip-art-sleeping-897182

hand med präskrage

 

 

 

 

 


räv dk korrigerad

 

This entry was posted in poem in English and Swedish, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

