You became a dream, my song never sung

I saw your picture in a paper last week,
since then images from times gone flickers
through my mind and I wonder where you went
and what went on with you, and

I could never forget your sunny blue eyes
and the dimples when you smiled and how
I melted for you then

At time I was too shy to show my delight,
my confidence was too low you wanted me too,
I let you slip away and next time we met
a jealous boyfriend guarded me pace, but

I could never forget your sunny blue eyes
and the dimples when you smiled and how
I melted for you then

The boy who got me was an Ike but I was
not a Tina, I got free easy but fame never
came my way, life fizzled out for me and
you were forever gone, but

I could never forget your sunny blue eyes
and the dimples when you smiled and how
I melted for you then

You were an upper class boy with a future,
nothing for a simple girl like me, but I’ve always
remembered you, you became a dream
and my song never sung, because

I could never forget your sunny blue eyes
and the dimples when you smiled and how
I melted for you then

John Bauer (1882-1918) Prince in Moon land 1907

John Bauer (1882-1918)
Prince in Moon land 1907

This entry was posted in love story, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

