The bumblebee (Humlan)

depression trimmadI
Give me a word of love this day today
because today my courage has shrunk
to less than nothing and all old sorrows
weighs heavily on me. My heart torments
me to remember and remorse all I never
became and all that never was. I want one
word of love today to redeem everything
that has solidified and aged in me. I wish
me a random smile from anyone today to
ease my pain and comfort me – this
miserable day today.

 

II
Late afternoon this day today of remorse
I drag myself out for a walk. It’s newly May
and it’s sunny and my jacket is too warm.
Dandelions blooms and the grass grows
green and strong  – and  friendly buzzing
bumblebee comes flying from behind and
pass close by my one ear to take the lead
on the path in front of me. I sense how
a little smile spreads on my lips –
for no reason at all.

 

bumblebee trimmad

 

 

 

(in Swedish below)

I
Ge mig ett ord av kärlek idag
därför att denna dag har mitt mod
krympt till noll och ingenting och alla
gamla sorger tynger mig. Mitt hjärta
plågar mig att minnas och grämas
allt jag aldrig blev och allt som aldrig
var. Jag trängtar ett ord av kärlek idag
att förlösa allt det som har stelnat och
grånats i mig. Jag önskar en slumpens
leende från vem som helst idag, att
lindra min smärta och trösta mig –
denna uschliga dag som är idag.

II
Sen på eftermiddagen denna dag av ruelse
släpar jag mig ut på en promenad. Det är
nyss maj och det är soligt och min jacka är
för varm. Maskrosorna blommar redan och
gräset växer grönt och starkt och en vänligt
surrande humla kommer flygande bakifrån
och passerar nära mitt ena öra, för att ta
ledningen på stigen framför mig. Och jag
känner ett litet leende sprida sig på mina
läppar – utan någon anledning alls.

dandelions-940x626

 

This entry was posted in poem in English and Swedish, poem in Swedish and English, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

