We plan to meet at summer’s end

Napoli_da_Castel_Sant_Elmo

We plan to meet at summer’s end,
in a southern country near the coast
and a friend offered to be my host.
When I told about you, I lost my friend.
Her gone, I wish you could be like one,
but “we ain’t friends”, you told me once.

But love without friendship,
can it last I asked?

If “we”, it’ll be upon your wish,
I wanted peace freed from solitude.
But feeling stuck, I get angry and rude
and you suffer and I get anguish.
I need a friend and want you to be one
but “we ain’t friends”, you told me once

But love without friendship,
can it last I asked?

Now you nag at me about summer’s end
and our planned vacation near the coast,
breakfast in bed with tea and toast,
but I’m unmoved by your romantic intend –
I need a friend and want you to be like one,
but “we ain’t friends”, you told me once.

“We ain’t friends but lovers”, you told me once,
“and I want this clearly, since I love you dearly”.
And I need a friend and maybe you are “the one”.
“But love without friendship, can it last”, I asked.

But love without friendship,
can it last I asked.
balcony-breakfast-1

This entry was posted in love poem, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

