At dusk César Vallejo talks to me

cesar-vallejo
No one has asked for me today, César Vallejo tells me
in the afternoon as the dusk slowly falls over me and
emptiness begin to tiptoe in the corners. Every day I
have “the courage to live”. Why, heaven only knows.
I reflect on friends – perhaps they are, but afar as on
another galaxy. Maybe someone thinks of me now –
captured in his or hers own bubble and out of reach.
But I think of him, César Vallejo; writing. He died many
years ago and he cares no more. But I still do.

 

 

Ingen har frågat efter mig idag, berättar César Vallejo för mig på eftermiddagen när skymningen sakta sänker sig över mig och tomheten börjar smyga i vrårna. Varje dag har jag “modet att leva”. Vad det nu ska vara bra för. Så jag tänker på vänner – som kanske finns, men  långt borta som i en annan vintergata. Kanske någon tänker på mig just nu –  fångad i sin egen bubbla och utom räckhåll. Men jag tänker på honom – César Vallejo, skrivande. Han dog för många år sedan och han bryr sig inte längre. Men det gör jag fortfarande.

 

 

Refers to César Vallejo “Agape”
poemas-del-alma.com/agape
This entry was posted in poem in Swedish and English, poem in Swedish translated to English, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

