Alone awake in a nightmare

Barefoot-walking cropped

Alone awake in a nightmare
I stand in the hall inside my front door and
I can hear how it blows up a storm out there
In fear, I press the door handle and the door
opens – so now again the latch is stuck and
my door has not been locked while I’ve
been clueless sleeping – and
I try now frantically to get the latch to work
to fall into the door frame, but the door has
over time become warped and the lock unfit
to the framework and that is then I wake up
alone awake in the middle of a nightmare
It’s the same nightmare that has come back
to me for decades – and the same old fear
and anxiety hold under the heel of a foot
which never succeed to move on
without its limiting pains

 

 

 

Ensam vaken mitt i en mardröm
Jag står i hallen innanför min ytterdörr och
jag hör hur det blåser upp till storm därute
Rädd trycker jag ner handtaget och dörren
öppnas – återigen har spärren fastnat och
och dörren inte varit låst medan jag
aningslöst sovit – jag försöker nu
frenetiskt få spärren att fungera att falla
in i dörrkarmen, men dörren har med tiden
blivit skev så att lås och ram inte längre
passar – och det är då jag vaknar ensam
vaken mitt i en mardröm – och det är
samma mara som hemsökt mig sedan
årtionden tillbaka och samma gamla
ångest och rädsla, hållen under hälen
på en fot som aldrig lyckas gå vidare
utan sina begränsande smärtor

Fear, cat by door Photography Black and White Pinterest

Fear, cat by door, Pinterest

 

This entry was posted in poem in Swedish and English, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

