Sugar babe (Blood sugar blues 2)

I woke up one day with a sugar babe in my blood,
Oh, woke up so sick with a sugar babe in my blood

I was dizzy, down and out and couldn’t help myself
and staggered downstairs to a neighbour’s door for help

and the woman sweetly smiled and said “sure I’ll help”,
then she slapped the door in my face, never saw her more

I woke up one morning with a sugar babe in my blood,
I woke up so sick with a sugar babe in my blood

I called my health centre and sweet lady in phone kindly
asked me if I was depressed or felt any joy in life

and she gave me an appointment ten days later
I could by then have rested in peace at the morgue

Calls in air lastly in a doctor’s care I got it clear,
I’ve got a sweet killing sugar babe in my blood

Yes, I woke so sick with a sugar babe in my blood,
but I will never be alone anymore because –

she will truly stay and sweeten my life every day –
Oh, a sweet sugar babe is now running my life!

Oh, listen carefully to my sweet blood sugar blues:

Once I woke up with a sugar babe in my blood,
and from that time I will never be alone more!

 

This entry was posted in create life, poems, poems by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

