I feared when I met you happiness was around the corner

kyckling_494

 

 

 

 

I feared when I met you happiness
was around the corner. And truly
I was happy a few days, meeting
someone as wonderful as you, but
luckily it didn’t last long, because
you’re pushing me too hard, and it
sets me in anxiety like last night.

Anguish grabbed me by my throat
and in worry I woke up and back to
sleep again; my heart a tight knot,
pecking hard and fast like the heart
in a chicken only born to get killed.

If you have any comfort to give
me I could easily suck it up like
a thirsting soul in a desert! But
I am ambivalent and confused
and if you’ll ask me today how
I’m doing, I will say “fine”. And
you will probably believe me.

Anyway, I’m more familiar with
being frustrated and struggling,
living in a shattered world; yet
I don’t want that for you. And I
don’t want to share my fear with
you. And I don’t want pressures.
I want to breathe freely.

John Bauer, Prince without shadow

John Bauer, Prince without shadow

This entry was posted in poem by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

