My young knight gets a rival

knight-on-horse1.jpgknight-on-horse1.jpg
 

 

 

I told my knight another man has asked me
to meet him. Confident he wrote me back:

“Honey,
that stupid guy is only trying to steal
my love away from me. But I still put
my trust in you for you have always been
there for me. That is why nothing can stop
my love for you no matter the roughness
of our path –

It shall be well.

You know, I can’t afford to lose you either
for you are the apple of my eye and the sugar
in my tea. I LOVE YOU, HONEY!”

Well…

I am perhaps the sugar in his tea, but
his unfulfilled vows spice my tea with lemons!
He’s gone, but what I lost was never mine.
But why this grief for what I never owned?

My two suitors goes to church on Sundays,
Monday they twist around a woman’s head
and have no problems jeopardize their souls.
I think – for this they should be put in hell!

I say with aches in heart and tears in eyes:
“No man will ever make me cry again!”
But after all – I love my young knight dearly!
He’s right about me, even if rest is pipe dreams.

 

John Bauer, Prince without shadow

John Bauer, Prince without shadow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in love poem, love story, poem by vonnely, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

