He who never came home to me

But very soon you became lazy taking me for granted and you left to me to keep us together, and my concerns never vanished  but was reinvented with you and that restless ghost wandering in empty rooms –  it was just me handed over to myself. And how many bloody songs I ever listened to on Youtube or Spotify about love and miss the beloved, still you made my heart to a one-stroke engine, leaving me lonely too much and too long. You certainly made me unhappy and finally I had enough and consigned you to the shadows. For a while I was your Maggie May and I came to knew you well enough to know that you will put the blame on me. But the truth is you blew it – the great love until death do us apart, the one you invented for us two. But I really don’t care anymore what you think, you’ll  be just another disappointment in a long life history. My sadness is luckily tiny low this time and I only wish for myself that some day someone will find me before it’s too late and want me all the way without wasting time on big empty words. And if it doesn’t happen, I just have to live on anyway. It’s still better than live a sad life with someone who is insensitive to your true feelings. Yes – I still stand at my window looking down on an empty rainy street and I think that whatever will become, I will have these contemplative and quiet moments where the soul rests in itself and the thoughts wanders freely. I guess I occasionally will come to think about you and wonder how you’re doing and what could have been if you had been  the one you claimed to be, and surely I’ll then  get a little nostalgic and blue. That’s how I am and that’s what you are… You –  the one I once was missing so much, but who never came home to me.

 

IMG_4017_1 b

In Swedish:

Men du blev snart lat och tog mig för given och överlät på mig att hålla oss ihop, och min oro – den försvann inte, men blev återuppfunnen med dig, och det rastlösa spöket som vandrade runt i tomma rum – det var ju jag. Och hur många jävla låtar jag än lyssnade till på Youtube och Spotify  – om kärlek och saknad, mitt hjärta gjorde du ändå till en en-takts motor. Du gjorde mig olycklig och jag har slutligen fått nog av det och stänger min dörr och förpassar dig nu till skuggorna. För ett tag var jag din Maggie May och jag lärde känna dig tillräckligt bra för att veta att du kommer att lägga skulden på mig. Men sanningen är att du sumpade det – den stora kärleken tills döden skiljer oss åt, den som du uppfann för oss två. Men vad du tycker bryr jag mig inte om längre, du blir bara en i en rad av förflutna besvikelser i ett långt liv och min sorg är lyckligtvis måttlig den här gången och nu önskar jag bara för mig själv att en dag – och innan det är försent – någon finner mig och vill ha mig hela vägen och utan att slösa tid på stora tomma ord. Och om det inte händer, får jag väl leva på i alla fall. Jag har ju vanan inne vid detta laget. Och ensam i ro är ändå bättre än att vara olycklig med någon som är blind för hur man verkligen känner det. Ja – jag står ännu vid mitt fönster och ser ned på en tom regnig gata och hur det än kommer att bli, lär jag väl alltid komma att ha dessa lugna och tillbakadragna stunder då själen vilar och tankarna vandrar fritt. Och jag antar att jag ibland kommer att minnas dig och undra i tårögd nostalgi hur du har det och hur det hade blivit om du hade varit den som du påstod dig vara. Och detta är hur jag är och detta är hur du är – du, som var den som jag en gång saknade så mycket, men som aldrig kom hem till mig.

 

this text refer to an earlier blog entry  and a song I like to listen to https://poemsbyvonnely.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/november-dusk/
This entry was posted in love story, poem by vonnely, poem in English and Swedish, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

