Blue song

Petter BergmanThe Swedish poet, translater and literary critic Petter Bergman living 1934 – 1986. His poetry is so densified and clean, and so close to the musical… and therefore I have really no capacity to translate him to English. But he is one of my youth poets, now rediscovered this October by me when I had to survive and occupy myself without a computer and Internet…. This poem is  simpler than many others by him, and I think my translation is good enough … It talks to me too, this poem… For some reason is its Swedish name “Blue song”, and  it’s to be found in the collection of poems “För att överleva” (= for survival) from 1976.

That dream I have in my head:
I must tell about it.

That dream I never wake up from.
That dream is all I have.

I dream it once and again:
therefore I have to sing it.

That dream follow me
all the way home.

It’s there the sunny days.
It’s there, it’s there in the night.

One morning it’s in clear spring water.
I play it on my guitar.

That dream I have in my head
it’s the only thing I always have.

I play it, sing it, mirrors it.
It follows me all the way home.

—- original text—–

Den drömmen jag har i mitt huvud:
jag måste berätta om den.

Den drömmen vaknar jag aldrig ur.
Den drömmen är allt jag har.

Jag drömmer den om och igen:
därför måste jag sjunga den.

Den drömmen följer mig
ända hem.

Den finns där de soliga dagarna.
Den finns där, den finns där om natten.

En morgon finns den i källklart vatten.
Jag spelar den på min gitarr.

Den drömmen jag har i mitt huvud
är det enda jag alltid har.

Jag spelar den, sjunger den, speglar den.
Den följer mig ända hem.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Swedish poem to English and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

