April and silence

Swedish poet Tomas Tranströmer
(my translation only for private use and not to be spreed)


April  and silence

Spring lies desolate.
The velvet dark ditch
crawls by my side
without mirror images.

 

The only that shines
are yellow flowers.

I’m carried in my shadow
as a fiddle
in its black case.

The only I want to say
glitters out of reach
as the silver
at the pawnbroker.

798px-Colts-foot_(Tussilago_farfara)

APRIL OCH TYSTNAD

Våren ligger öde.
Det sammetsmörka diket
krälar vid min sida
utan spegelbilder.

Det enda som lyser
är gula blommor.

Jag bärs i min skugga
som en fiol
i sin svarta låda.

Det enda jag vill säga
glimmar utom räckhåll
som silvret
hos pantlånaren.

(ur SORGEGONDOLEN 1996)

AAADCGB fiollåda

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.