Postlude (Postludium)

Tomas Tranströmer, Postlude (Postludium)

(NOTE: this is my private translation of Transrömer’s poem andonly for private use and not to be spreed)

 

This poetry collection I borrow from the local library
every time I go there and I always have the book  at
the bedroom table, every night reading one of his
poems before I turn of the light to sleep.

 

 

 

 

I drag like a grapnel over  world ground.
All I don’t need get stuck with me.
Tired indignation, burning indignation.
Hangmen fetches stones, God writes in sand.

Silent rooms.
The furniture stand s in the moonlight redy to  fly.
I walk slowly into myself
through a forest of empty armor.

POSTLUDIUM
Ur samlingen Det vilda torget 1983

Jag släpar som en dragg över världens botten.
Allt fastnar som jag inte behöver.
Trött indignation, glödande indignation.
Bödlarna hämtar sten, Gud skriver i sanden.

Tysta rum.
Möblerna står flygfärdiga i månskenet.
Jag går sakta in i mig själv
genom en skog av tomma rustningar.

 

Tomas Tranströmer 1931 – 2015. Swedish poet, got the Nobel Prize in Literature 2011. He was also a skilled pianist. 1990 at age 59 he got a stroke with remaining paralysis half body and aphasia. He learned how to play his piano with one hand. He was 83 years old when he died.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.