I don’t want to sleep with my eyes open

I don’t want to sleep with my eyes open. I don’t need a man to sweep me off my feet, and turn my world around. I thank you for the offer, but it’s not happiness for me nowadays, it’s a coffee break. Surely I love my coffee breaks and wants them every day, and surely I want a man who loves me dearly. But I also want him to be mature enough to foresee things that might happen, and make plans for what he wants. I really don’t need a young man who runs away like a randy goat, and break all his legs falling down into the valley of law and order and boring society expectations. I don’t need a man who keeps me waiting and then calls me to come and carry him home, and save him from whatever is. I need a man whose desire is to bring me safe  through whatever happens. Yes, I want a man who is reliable, and whose spontaneous impulse is to stay with me and take my hand in front of the dark alleys fears.So please honey, knock it off! I don’t want to sleep with my eyes open, I want  to be safe with you and remain with you.  And later on, in a vague future I don’t dare to think about when the Grim Reaper wants me, I wish you to love me enough to hold me in your arms all the way. And I would do the same for you. And I’ll carry you as you me.

3267-alpine-chamois-silouet

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.