My heart is a graveyard for old memories

Bunker, Dennis Miller. Yellow Rose. c. 1887.

Bunker, Dennis Miller. Yellow Rose. c. 1887.

My heart is a graveyard for old memories and lost dreams. Stubborn old ladies with stiff bodies and aching hips visit it now and then. They mess around for a little while and make something out of nothing, while pretending cleaning up – harmless really, they just cannot let it be. I pretend I don’t  notice them. Roses have wilted here – not that I have got so many as I would have liked to have, but still – and despite the old women’s zeal, single withered petals still dances over the stones and rustles creepy in the breeze during rare sleepless nights. Thorns are what is most left behind, and they gathers in piles in the corners. Sometimes scratches, in spite healed and faded, burst  into spontaneous bleeding. Vases  remains, forgotten by indifference, and now and then a bad whiff penetrates up to my wake days chores, causing embarrassment. I ought to clean up and clean out. But  the very thought  brings fatigue all over me and everything, like a wet wool blanket, and I push  it away from me. And nothing is ever flawless and nothing is easy. My heart’s ingenuous yearning hides easily under the amounts of deceived hopes and expired calendars, and its cries drowns by the worldly and  daily noise; the supremacy of chatting. I ask for someone I have dear, but can barely hear my own voice. Maybe the best would be to forget all about it – the fuss of love games and everyday concerns; and instead read all those books you would like to read, and take lone walks  across the meadows early mornings in the summer coming; yes, to harmonize life in company  with the veiled nostalgia – mild and mellow as honey, and blue as the deep silent night over a graveyard, where the memories have forgotten themselves. Yes, bring peace to my worn out heart. But he is coming, he said to me. yellow_rose_and_thorns_by_HDDF

knight-on-horse1.jpgMitt hjärta är en gravplats för gamla minnen och förlorade drömmar. Gamla damer med stela kroppar och dåliga höfter besöker den envist då och då, de låtsas att de städar upp och fjantar runt ett tag och gör sig till – harmlösa egentligen, men de kan bara inte låta det vara. Jag låtsas att jag inte märker dem. Här har rosor vissnat – inte så att jag har fått så många som jag skulle ha önskat, men ändå – och trots gummornas städiver dansar enstaka vissnade blomblad ännu över stenarna och prasslar spöklikt i den svaga brisen någon enstaka sömnlös natt. Taggarna är det mesta som har blivit kvar och de har samlats på hög i hörnen. En gång läkta och bleknade rispor efter dem spontanblöder fortfarande ibland. Vaser står ännu kvar, bortglömda av likgiltighet, och nu och då tränger unkna pustar igenom till min vakna dags göranden och vållar förlägenhet. Jag borde väl plocka undan och rensa upp. Men blotta tanken får tröttheten att lägga sig över allt och mig som en våt yllefilt, och jag skjuter det ifrån mig. Men vad än poeten kunde ha sagt: unket vatten luktar lika illa i spruckna krus som de utan skavanker. Och inget är helt och inget är enkelt. Mitt hjärtas troskyldiga trånad döljs lätt under drivor av svikna förhoppningar och gamla almanackor, och dess rop överröstas av världens och dagens brus; pladdrets överordning. Jag frågar efter någon jag håller kär, men  hör knappt min egen röst. Det bästa vore förmodligen att glömma bort alltsammans, slippa kärleksstök och vardagstrassel; och istället läsa alla de där böckerna man skulle vilja läsa, promenera ensam över ängarna i tidiga mornar i den sommar som nu kommer – ja, att harmonisera livet i sällskap med den florklädda nostalgin, söt och mild som  honung, och blå som den tysta djupa natten över en gravplats där minnena glömt sig själva: ja, bringa frid till mitt slitna hjärta. Men han kommer, sa han till mig. ros_framifranknight-on-horseknight-on-horseknight-on-horse1.jpg

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.