I’m nothing but a potsherd in your hand

Honey!
I’m nothing, just a potsherd, once hidden deep in soil for generations, and only by accident dug up and exposed on the ground in front of your feet. I could have remained undiscovered by you, and you could have treaded on me, while you continued your way. Or you could have seen me, but ignored me as being unimportant trash, and trampled me down back into the soil, while you went on to some place I know nothing about. But you bowed down, and you picked me up, and you took me in your hand, and you dried gently and tender the dirt of me, and you looked at me from all sides.
¤
You see me now. You see my shiny glaze and fragments of a motif or a pattern in faded colors, see my ulcerated edges, where I was broke apart and removed from the whole I once was a part of. I am in your hand a piece of a puzzle, and in your mind you will create an idea of what is not here to see. And from this idea you will paint a picture of how you think I once was. And when you done that, you will perceive your image of me to be the truth.
¤
In your imagination you can see me as a whole and flawless crock, and you will be able to fill me with what you want to believe in, moisturizing oil, refreshing and thirst-quenching water, intoxicating wine, red as your blood …. yes, you can fill me with whatever you wish and want.
¤
A long time ago I was thrown on a dump. I now rest in your hand and you see me as remarkable and so very interesting – a testimony of past times. I’m far from to be somebody, but I am something …. in your eyes. If I had eyes they would be filled with tears, and if I had a heart it would be filled with love and affection for you. But I’m only a potsherd in your hand, and I can only be what you make of me.
¤
I was once upon a time a portion of an anonymous amount of soft, moist and sticky mud. A man took a lump of clay and created me. He kneaded me and shaped me to a pot. He burned me in a kiln to hard brick, he painted and glazed me, and then burned me once again. I’m dry, hard, artificial, and breakable.
¤
Honey, I’m mute for thee, and I only exist as long as I am in your mind and in your heart. So don’t dump me back to the ground, don’t put me in a glass booth in a showroom exposed to the public, and not seen by any. No, hide me in your pant pocket, and give me the heat from your body, and let me dwell close to your groin, and touch me secretly now and then with your finger tips. Yes, make me to your enigma, and I’ll protect you from being kneaded, and formed, and burned, and crushed, and to become an alienated fragment separated from Universe. I’ll be the part which connects you to the Whole.
¤
Honey, honey, sweetest honey…
Can you hear my tongueless prayer?

———————————————————–

Jag är ingenting, bara en krukskärva i din hand

Vännen!
Jag är ingenting, bara en krukskärva, en gång dold djupt i marken i generationer, och endast av en slump uppgrävd och exponerad på marken framför dina fötter. Jag kunde ha blivit oupptäckt av dig, och du kunde ha trampat på mig, medan du fortsatt på din väg. Eller du kunde du ha sett mig, men ignorerat mig som oviktigt skräp, och trampat mig tillbaka ned i jorden när du gick din väg, till någonstans som jag vet ingenting om. Men du böjde dig ner och du plockade upp mig, och du tog mig i handen och du torkade försiktigt och ömt all smuts av mig, och du betraktade mig från alla håll.
¤
Och du ser mig nu. Du ser min blanka glasyr och du ser fragment av ett motiv eller ett mönster i blekta färger, du ser mina såriga kanter, där jag bröts isär och bort från den helhet som jag en gång var en del av. Jag är i din hand en bit av ett pussel, och ditt medvetande kommer att göra sig en föreställning om vad som inte finns här. Och ur denna din föreställning kommer du att teckna en bild av hur du tror att jag en gång var. Och sedan kommer du att uppfatta din bild av mig som sanningen.
¤
I din fantasi kan du se mig som en hel och felfri lerkruka, och du kommer att kunna fylla mig med vad du vill tro på – fuktgivande olja, uppfriskande och törstsläckande vatten, berusande vin, rött som blodet …. ja, du kan fylla mig med vad du vill och önskar.
¤
För länge sedan kastades jag på en soptipp. Jag vilar nu i din hand och du ser mig som mycket märklig och intressant, ett vittnesbörd från gångna tider. Jag är långt ifrån att vara någon, men jag är någonting …. i dina ögon. Och om jag hade ögon skulle de fyllas med tårar, och om jag hade ett hjärta skulle fyllas med kärlek och tillgivenhet för dig. Men jag är bara en lerskärva i din hand, och jag kan bara bli vad du gör av mig.
¤
Jag var en gång i tiden en del av en anonym mängd mjuk, fuktig och klibbig lera. En man tog en lerklump och skapade mig. Han knådade mig och formade mig till en kruka. Han brände mig i en ugn till hårt tegel, och han målade och glaserade mig och brände mig ännu en gång. Jag är torr, hård, artificiella och krossbar.
¤
Vännen min, jag är stum inför dig, och jag finns bara så länge som jag är i ditt medvetande och i ditt hjärta. Så dumpa mig inte tillbaka i jorden, sätt mig inte i ett glasmonter på en utställningslokal exponerad för allmänhetens ögon, och inte sedd av någon. Nej, göm mig i din byxficka, och ge mig värme från din kropp, och låt mig vila mot din ljumske, och rör vid mig då och då i hemlighet med dina fingertoppar. Ja, gör mig till din gåta, och jag ska skydda dig från att bli knådad, formad , bränd, och krossad, och att bli en alienerad fragment separerad från universum. Jag ska vara delen som ansluter dig till helheten.
¤
Vännen, allra käraste vännen min…,
kan du höra min tysta bön?

This entry was posted in folklore, poems, Poetry, prose poem and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

